International Conference on Multi-Condensate Superconductivity and Superfluidity in Solids and Ultra-cold Gases

Trieste, Italy,
14-18 May 2018

Deadline for requesting participation with financial support: 15 February 2018 
Deadline for requesting participation without financial support: 1 March 2018 

Participants wishing to present a poster during the Conference should kindly indicate this on the application by uploading a short abstract with their surname/name/institute address/ title and brief - max one page - description.

The Organizers will select some of the abstracts for Oral Presentations.


Novel quantum phenomena in multicomponent superconductors and superfluids

Competing orders in multicomponent quantum systems

Multicomponent superconductivity and superfluidity in 2D materials andheterostructures

Topological effects in multicomponent quantum systems

Vortical and skyrmionic states in multicomponent quantum fluids

The standard picture of superconductors and superfluids is based on the existence of a single quantum condensate, but recent advances in material science and ultracold atoms opened a paradigm of multicomponent quantum fluids. New directions in this multifacetted and booming field are opened by emergent 2D materials, heterostructures, multiorbital materials, and ultracold atomic mixtures, in which superconductivity and superfluidity are readily realized, and where links between observed quantum effects can be made and knowledge can be cross-fertilized. This MultiSuper conference is aimed to help understand, quantify, and manipulate the effects of hybridization between multiple condensates in a single system, as a pathway to yet unseen quantum phenomena. The key experts will be assembled to present and interpret state-of-the-art experiments and theory, and advance fundamental physics and material science in this field.

For more information and application details click on the link:

Confirmed speakers:
Saeed Abedinpour (IASBS, Zanjan)
Vanderlei S. Bagnato (University of Sao Paulo) 
Antun Balaz (Institute of Physics, Belgrade)
Antonio Bianconi (RICMASS, Rome)
Lara Benfatto (CNR and Rome “Sapienza”)
Francois Dubin (INSP, Paris)
Stephen D. Edkins (Cornell University, New York)
Leonardo Fallani (LENS and University of Florence)
Laura Fanfarillo (SISSA, Trieste)
Stefano Giorgini (University of Trento)
Walter Hofstetter (Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt) 
Allan MacDonald (University of Texas at Austin)
David Neilson (University of Camerino & University of Antwerp)
Muneto Nitta (Keio University, Tokyo)
Sebastiano Peotta (Aalto University, Finland)
Nick Proukakis (University of Newcastle, UK)
Dimitri Roditchev (INSP, Paris)
Carlos Sa de Melo (Georgia Tech, Atlanta)
Arkady A. Shanenko (University of Pernambuco, Recife)
Daniela Stornaiuolo (University of Naples Federico II)
Jacques Tempère (University of Antwerp)
Alexei Vagov (Bayreuth University)
Andrey Varlamov (CNR-Spin, Rome)